EEA and Norway Grants

foto 3

The EEA Grants and Norway Grants are Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway's contribution to reducing economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area and to the strengthening of bilateral relations with the 15 beneficiary states in Central, Eastern and Southern Europe.

For the period 2014-2021, a total of €2.8 billion has been set aside. The priorities for this period reflect the priorities of the EU and aim to respond to the shared challenges facing Europe. Key areas of support include:

#1 Innovation, Research, Education and Competitiveness

#2 Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction

#3 Environment, Energy, Climate Change and Low Carbon Economy

#4 Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance and Fundamental Rights

#5 Justice and Home Affairs

The specific priorities in each beneficiary country will be set in the Memoranda of Understanding (MoU). Information on the allocations per beneficiary country will be updated on an ongoing basis on the respective country pages.

The Grants are available for non-governmental organisations, research and academic institutions and the public and private sectors.

For a Q&A on what to expect after the lauch of the EEA and Norway Grants in May 2016 please visit On this page you will find more information in English about all the programs included in the funding mechanism for 2009-2014 period and for 2014-2021 period. Information about the EEA and Norway Grants in Norwegian is to be found at